Unbrako steel Kiveton park Sheffield Photographs

I did a months experience as a production metallurgist at Unbrako steels at Kiveton Park Sheffield in 1979.  I think I did this in my 2nd to last year and there wasn’t all the H&S we now have.  The only safety equipment I remember were glasses for my eyes.

Job role

I used to get sent out into the steel plant to check the temperature and acidity of solutions in big tanks.   The job was very easy to learn.  I had to cut the ends of a piece of rounded bar.  I then had to set into a wax like base.   I then had to grind the surface flat.  I then tested the hardness of the metal.  The more complex element was to check the Carbon content of the metal under an microscope.  I think this skill would have taken more than a month for me to learn, before they would have trusted me fully with it.

Steel processes

Scrap steel was converted to steel using an arc furnace.  There were a number of rolling processes and the end product was lots of Allen keys.  If you worked at the plant please remind me what the various processes were?   I worked at British steel for 5 years after this and may confuse what happened there, with other steel plants I worked at.

Unbrako steel

Unbrako steel was closed down a number of years ago and the jobs were moved to India.  When I look at the history of Unbrako steel on the current web site, it seems a little untrue, as though they are trying to ignore history or be economical with the truth.  This is more asset stripping in a race to the bottom with lower wages, nothing to be proud of.

If you worked at Unbrako steel Kiveton Park, I would like to hear what you did there?

Unbrako steel has been converted into a industrial estate of some kind.

Historical significance

Unbrako steel was next door to Kiveton Park steels which is currently struggling.  This valley has the same historical importance as Coalbrookdale in Shropshire and is probably older.  Stone from Anston was transported down the Chesterfield canal at this point to build the Houses of Parliament.

01-dsc_0001 02-dsc_0002 03-dsc_0003 04-dsc_0004

Unbrako Steel Kiveton Sheffield

Unbrako Steel Kiveton Sheffield

Unbrako Steel Kiveton Sheffield

Unbrako Steel Kiveton Sheffield

Unbrako steel main entrance

Unbrako steel main entrance

Unbrako steel main entrance

Unbrako steel main entrance

Unbrako steel main melting shop

Unbrako steel main melting shop

Unbrako steels Kiveton park Sheffield

Unbrako steels Kiveton park Sheffield

Unbrako steels Kiveton park Sheffield

Unbrako steels Kiveton park Sheffield

Unbrako steels Kiveton park Sheffield Offices

Unbrako steels Kiveton park Sheffield Offices

Enjoy the pictures and constructive feedback is always welcome.

All the best

Tim

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Unbrako steel Kiveton park Sheffield Photographs

Leave a Reply

